Currently, Florida law classifies the following as crimes:
- Possession of marijuana for personal use.
- Manufacturing (growing) marijuana.
- Sale or distribution of marijuana.
- Trafficking in marijuana.
- Possession or sales of drug paraphernalia, including objects used to grow, harvest, manufacture, store or use marijuana.
- Driving under the influence of marijuana.
Penalties for Growing Marijuana in FloridaFlorida’s warm climate provides an excellent environment for marijuana cultivation, but growing weed is a crime in Florida. It’s also illegal to maintain a property on which cannabis cultivation takes place. Penalties depend on the amount manufactured, and whether the activity takes place in a drug-free zone, such as near a church or school:
- 20 grams or less is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of one year in jail and a maximum $1,000 fine.
- 25 pounds or less is a felony, punishable by a maximum of five years in prison and a maximum $5,000 fine.
- 25 to 2,000 pounds (300 – 2,000 plants) is a felony, punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of three years in prison and a maximum $25,000 fine.
- 2,000 to 10,000 pounds (2,000 – 10,000 plants) is a felony, punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of seven years in prison and a maximum $50,000 fine.
- 10,000 pounds (or 10,000 plants) or more is a felony, punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of 15 years in prison and a maximum $200,000 fine.
- Distribution or cultivation within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park, public housing, daycare center or church is a felony, punishable by a maximum 15 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine.1